News in Brief

IQIPS is now a CQC approved scheme and publically available information will be taken into account in the CQC inspection methodology.

Professor Sir Mike Richards CBE, Chief Inspector of Hospitals releases policy statement expressing his support for accreditation and the importance it plays in improving the quality of healthcare.

NHS England Putting Patients First, Business Plan 2014-15 to 2016-17 outlines key deliverable for diagnostics:  

"Ensure that more than 70% of all scientific and diagnostic services are part of accreditation programmes and demonstrate robust quality assurance measures by end March 2015."

UKAS are looking to recruit IQIPS assessors, click here for details.


Physiological services

The IQIPS programme covers the following physiological services:

Adult audiology, Paediatric audiology, 
Cardiac physiology,
Gastro-Intestinal physiology,
Ophthalmic and vision science,
Respiratory and sleep physiology,
Vascular science

Sponsored By

The IQIPS Accreditation Scheme is hosted by the Royal College of Physicians of London. The programme is sponsored by the Department of Health and the Chief Scientific Officer for NHS England to promote and recognise good quality practice in physiological services.


Welcome to the Improving Quality In Physiological Services (IQIPS) Programme.

Important changes to IQIPS governance

From 1 April 2017 the governance of the Improving Quality in Physiological Services (IQIPS) accreditation programme will no longer be hosted by the Royal College of Physicians. Following a period of transition and transformation, the scheme will be wholly hosted by the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS). The transition of the scheme from the RCP to UKAS will impact the governance and logistics, but will have a limited impact on services continuing their progression towards achieving the accreditation standard.

Kerry Tinkler, Clinical lead for IQIPS said:

The IQIPS programme has been operational for over 4 years and has seen fantastic improvements in the standards of physiological services. It has been a pleasure and honour to lead the programme and I look forward to watching its continued success as the harmonisation across scientific and diagnostic services unfolds. I am grateful to UKAS for taking the programme forward and will continue to work to support the transition over the coming months.

All registered services will continue to have access to the Self Assessment and Improvement Tool (SAIT) until June 2017, if requested. UKAS will contact existing registered services shortly to ensure that they continue to receive support through the early stages of implementing the IQIPS standard and applying for accreditation. All other requirements will remain the same. Any questions or queries should be sent to IQIPS programme manager Madeline Corrigan at

Registration for IQIPS

Register now

You will need to complete an online application form for your service(s). Once your application is complete you will be sent a service agreement with an invoice followed by a user login and password for the online tool. The annual programme subscription fee per specialty is between £500 and £1000 depending upon the complexity and size of the service.The annual accreditation fee is £2100, subject to inflation. There are cost incentives if an organisation applies to IQIPS for more than one specialty.

The annual subscription fee, together with support from the Department of Health, covers the governance of the programme, development of the standards and guidance, access to the SAIT and Knowledge Management System (KMS), support from the IQIPS team and regular updates and newsletters. However, if the service is very complex for example has multiple sites or you are applying for adult hearing services one year accreditation, fees may vary. This will be discussed with you following receipt of your application.

Ophthalmic and Vision Science is not launched currently, click here if you would like to express interest in registering.

The Self Assessment and Improvement Tool (SAIT)

The SAIT is a web-based tool which supports the quality improvement of the service accreditation journey. The SAIT contains key measures from the standards material to provide a mechanism for quality improvement and also help assess readiness for accreditation as well as supporting the maintenance of the standards. The self assessment element has measures that have been assigned levels D-A. Level B is typically the accreditation level. The SAIT includes discipline-specific guidance, example evidence, references and a knowledge management system to support users and to share good practice.  You need to register for IQIPS to gain access to the SAIT.

The IQIPS SAIT is different from the IQIPS Web-Based Assessments Tool which supports the UKAS assessment and accreditation process for the IQIPS scheme.


United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS) has been appointed by the Royal College of Physicians to manage and deliver the IQIPS assessment and accreditation scheme.

When your service is obtaining level B for most measures in the SAIT (approximately 95%) you are eligible to apply for accreditation. This part of the process involves uploading evidence to demonstrate that your service meets the standards and can be measured and observed by the UKAS assessment team. The UKAS team will review the evidence and once approved an onsite assessment visit will be carried out.

Following successful completion of accreditation there is the requirement for a self-assessment through the SAIT on an annual basis, along with payment of the applicable annual fees.

To apply for IQIPS accreditation click here.

Please read and confirm the following messages